Get Price

Record Breaking Round


Jordon Cox Sweeps Round Two of the Australian Pulsar Racing Association Championship.

Round two of the inaugural NSW Australian Pulsar Racing Association Championship got underway at Wakefield Park Raceway on Sunday 22 May with new and existing competitors making up a high-quality 25-car field.

DAO 5939 1

The field enjoyed its first full hit-out on the new control tyre, the Toyo Proxes R888R, which saw times tumble and new lap records set in qualifying. The lap times covering the top five in all three races are a testament to the whole category, which started only a few short years ago. The results at Wakefield show how much the series has grown, the improvement in driving standards, and the category’s ability to draw new drivers and cars to the series.

Two newcomers to the Australian Pulsar Racing Series traded blows in qualifying with Jaie Robson taking pole with a 1.11.13, a new qualifying record. The top three were covered by just 0.6 of a second.

Jaie Robson and team mate Tyra Maranik showed that the right preparation can deliver rewarding results in this one-make series.

Race one saw Robson lead from the start ahead of series newcomers Jordon Cox and Tyra Maranik. The racing was close with Dimitri Agathos and round 1 race winner Dan Smith trading positions in the opening stages. A mid-race clash between Paul Bartolo and Woods saw them both out of action. On lap 6 a mistake from Robson meant Cox and Maranik were able to get the jump over him, but an unfortunate coming together approaching the main straight between Robson and Maranik saw them finish 4th and 10th respectively. The top five were Cox, Agathos, Smith, Robson and Alexandra Lawrence.

Race two saw Robson starting rear of field for his part in the race one clash, with Cox starting from pole and taking a lights to flags victory over Agathos, James Keene and Lawrence. While an early mistake by Dan Smith saw him drop in the standings, it provided for some entertaining racing mid-pack with John Boston, Matt Boylan and Sean Ryan all swapping positions regularly in the closing laps. Agathos and Cox traded fastest laps for most of the race, and with Agathos running low on fuel he was unable to challenge for the lead in the end. After starting last, Robson was able to finish 9th and set the fastest lap of the day.

Round two of the inaugural NSW Australian Pulsar Racing Association Championship

The race three trophy race was very clean, with Cox getting the jump on the field and he was never headed. Some fast racing saw a new lap record set by Jaie Robson who jumped inside the top three and was chasing down the top two, but there weren’t enough laps for him to make any move forward. The top 10 at the conclusion of the race were Cox, Agathos, Robson, Maranik, Smith, Joshua Heath (who started the day outside the top 10 in a brand new car), Lawrence, Boylan, Keene and Ryan.

A special mention must go to the dedicated members we have who helped each other getting cars back out on the track and changing ECU’s for parity. If we had an iron man award, it would have to go to Matt Dickey who returned to this round after breaking his leg at a football game. Thanks Matt for showing serious dedication to the series.

The Australian Pulsar Racing Association would like to thank its series sponsors: Toyo Tires, New Image Kitchens, Trackschool and 
Jonnesway Professional Tools.